Posted in Uncategorized

Summer Reading: Take 3

I’m a little worried that some of my colleagues may be receiving mixed messages from the summer reading text. It seems to put great emphasis on how in control the teacher needs to be of the class. I worry that my fellow teachers may think this means creating a teacher-directed classroom. I believe Harry Wong, one of the authors, wants educators to realize that being prepared and ready as a teacher is crucial to creating a successful experience for the students. However, the students need to be the focus of the teaching. The students need to be the ones involved in finding the problems and solving them. The students need to be asking the questions and driving the curriculum. Effective teachers craft a student-centered classroom where the students are working together to solve problems and learn the material and content. The students need to be engaged in the material and own their learning. No matter how much control the teacher as, if the students aren’t driving the learning, than all that control was for not.

Author:

I teach sixth grade at Cardigan Mountain School in Canaan, NH. I'm currently ensconced in my fourteenth year at this small, independent boys' school. I love engaging students in relevant and hands-on learning. I was nominated for the NH Teacher of the Year Award in 2016 by a parent. While I love education and guiding students, my first passion is my family. I have a wonderful son, Jeffrey, and a beautiful and intelligent wife, Kim. I couldn't be happier. Every day is the best day of my life.

Leave a Reply

